You signed in with another tab or window. Reload to refresh your session.You signed out in another tab or window. Reload to refresh your session.You switched accounts on another tab or window. Reload to refresh your session.Dismiss alert
{{ message }}
Repository navigation
[FEATURE] Add option to disable automatic Plan tool use #23384
I have searched existing requests and this feature hasn't been requested yet
This is a single feature request (not multiple features)
Problem Statement
I have a very different iterative planning workflow that I use, so I am never going to actually select "plan mode" myself. I always have to cancel it when Claude decides "it's time to plan!".
Proposed Solution
It would be great to have an official setting to either: deny the planning tool completely (no option in tab switcher either), or a very least deny the automatic tool use to enter planning mode (I am fine if this triggers a hiccup in Claude's output, I can always redirect after).
Alternative Solutions
I am testing out adding EnterPlanMode to my Deny list, but that seems pretty hacky (what if the name of that tool changes, or there is some other way to trigger it?).
Edit: This does appear to work for now, but as mentioned, an official true/false setting for planning mode as a whole or automatic planning at a minimum would be way better.
Priority
Medium - Would be very helpful
Feature Category
Interactive mode (TUI)
Use Case Example
No response
Additional Context
No response
Reacted by Paul Wulff, Kalem Edlin, Ali Issa, Raine Virta, Arty McLabin, Liam, Max Donchenko, Maurice Faber, Artur Havrylov, Yuki Tsujii and 30 more
i second this. plan mode is forcing a work-flow that is super different from my approach.
i ALWYAS click "esc" on it, and write "tldr" or a prompt copypasta i have :
"{I ask for your reply to be concise and consist of the minimal information I need for my strategy purposes since I am a CTO strategist and I'm not the developer. So you should not give me technical implementation details unless I will
ask you about them. You should check those but you should report to me only the strategical essence and make it a TLDR by default. Always surface risks, gaps, and open items prominently — hiding problems is worse than verbose
reporting.}"
Yes, can we please have this? We're not all using the CLI the same way others do. I'm using it mostly with voice from a remote client. So I despise this plan mode. It's no of no use to me. I just want to read and cant handle multiple choice there...
+1 - I have custom planning skills (brainstorming, design docs, cross-LLM audits) that replace native plan mode entirely. Auto-invocation of EnterPlanMode constantly interrupts my workflow. A settings.json toggle to disable it would be ideal.
I agree, I use Brainstorm, which also supports plan creation and more. When I see that plan mode and Brainstorm are activated at the same time, I have to write every time to get the model out of plan creation.
In addition, sometimes the tasks are so simple that creating a plan only prolongs the implementation time, and it often happens that plan mode activates itself.
Honestly plan mode is the bane of my existence. And for some reason it has the ability to turn it off an on.
If I'm multi-sessioning in my home folder then it overwrites plans from other sessions.
If there's a plan I've created that requires additional planning at different phases. It overwrites the original plan, and loses context of what it was doing.
And as much as I would love for claude to be the completely self-guided 100% reliable multi-swarm end-game agent, it's not there yet.
Plans should never be overwritten. They should be versioned and archived.
## Clarify, Don't Plan
When a task is ambiguous or has multiple valid approaches, do NOT enter plan mode. Instead, use `AskUserQuestion` to clarify the specific points where the correct choice is unclear. Ask focused, minimal questions — only what's needed to proceed confidently. Then start implementing immediately after getting answers.
Only enter plan mode if the user explicitly asks for it.
+1, i went a few months without it being triggered naturally. something in the latest versions of claude code has now made plan mode trigger on almost every single change and it's highly disruptive / ruining the claude code experience given I have a separate planning process and skill.
Activity
mellowfish commentedon Feb 5, 2026
Note: This is semi-related to #22220 in spirit (that bug makes this setting more desirable) but the setting feature request is it's own thing.
github-actions commentedon Feb 5, 2026
Found 3 possible duplicate issues:
/.claude/plansand is over optimizing on simple prompt #12366This issue will be automatically closed as a duplicate in 3 days.
🤖 Generated with Claude Code
ArtyMcLabin commentedon Feb 19, 2026
i second this. plan mode is forcing a work-flow that is super different from my approach.
i ALWYAS click "esc" on it, and write "tldr" or a prompt copypasta i have :
mertunsall commentedon Feb 21, 2026
agreed!
Morriz commentedon Mar 1, 2026
Yes, can we please have this? We're not all using the CLI the same way others do. I'm using it mostly with voice from a remote client. So I despise this plan mode. It's no of no use to me. I just want to read and cant handle multiple choice there...
artnikbrothers commentedon Mar 1, 2026
+1 - I have custom planning skills (brainstorming, design docs, cross-LLM audits) that replace native plan mode entirely. Auto-invocation of EnterPlanMode constantly interrupts my workflow. A settings.json toggle to disable it would be ideal.
Michal99Zajac commentedon Mar 4, 2026
I agree, I use Brainstorm, which also supports plan creation and more. When I see that plan mode and Brainstorm are activated at the same time, I have to write every time to get the model out of plan creation.
In addition, sometimes the tasks are so simple that creating a plan only prolongs the implementation time, and it often happens that plan mode activates itself.
phatmandrake commentedon Mar 9, 2026
Honestly plan mode is the bane of my existence. And for some reason it has the ability to turn it off an on.
If I'm multi-sessioning in my home folder then it overwrites plans from other sessions.
If there's a plan I've created that requires additional planning at different phases. It overwrites the original plan, and loses context of what it was doing.
And as much as I would love for claude to be the completely self-guided 100% reliable multi-swarm end-game agent, it's not there yet.
Plans should never be overwritten. They should be versioned and archived.
SanjoSolutions commentedon Mar 9, 2026
I have the following in my ~/.claude/CLAUDE.md:
mimen commentedon Jul 21, 2026
+1, i went a few months without it being triggered naturally. something in the latest versions of claude code has now made plan mode trigger on almost every single change and it's highly disruptive / ruining the claude code experience given I have a separate planning process and skill.